Abell Point Marina named top tourism attraction

Comments Comments
Gold award winners from Abell Point Marina (l-r) Luke McCaul, Cherie Morel and Joscelyn O’Keefe.
Gold award winners from Abell Point Marina (l-r) Luke McCaul, Cherie Morel and Joscelyn O’Keefe.

Queensland marina wins gold in Whitsunday tourism awards.

Abell Point Marina at Airlie Beach in Queensland has been named as the top Major Tourism Attraction in the Whitsunday Tourism Awards presented last week.

The marina received the gold award at a ceremony held at Cape Gloucester Eco Resort attended by over 280 representatives from local tourism industry operators, regional and state tourism bodies and local and regional government.

In presenting the award for Major Tourism Attraction, the judge’s described Abell Point as “by far the best (in every sense) marina in Australia”.

Luke McCaul, general manager of Abell Point Marina, paid tribute to the hard work of the marina team, the vision of marina owner Paul Darrouzet, as well as the marina operators and the contribution they make to the marina becoming a world-class destination.

Tourism Whitsundays CEO, Craig Turner, said the awards process provides Whitsunday operators with an opportunity to review their business goals and achievements, and establish benchmarks for those new to the industry.

“I’d like to commend all the businesses and individuals who were recognised at last night’s Awards, and indeed all of our local operators and their invaluable teams who work tirelessly to ensure the Whitsundays remains a global must-see destination,” he said.

In addition to Abell Point Marina, numerous local marine operators also picked up gold awards including Tall Ship Adventures aboard the Derwent Hunter (Steve Irwin Eco Tourism), Ocean Rafting (Major Tour and Transport), and Whitsunday Jetski Tours (Adventure Tourism and Tour and Transport), while Red Cat Adventures and True Blue Sailing each collected silver awards.

Many of these operators will now go on to represent the region at the Queensland Tourism awards in November.

comments powered by Disqus